Arkansas Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Written By: Jeffrey JohnsonUPDATED: Nov 29, 2010Fact Checked

Under Arkansas marriage laws, couples must obtain a marriage license from the state. The marriage license is valid for 60 days and the marriage must be finalized within that time period. Parties 18 and older are free to marry, but those under 18 must obtain parental consent. The details on the requirements for an Arkansas marriage are set forth below.


Arkansas Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: Generally, females who have reached the age of 16 can marry in Arkansas with parental consent. Males who have reached 17 can marry in Arkansas with parental consent.
  • Without Parental Consent: Generally, males and females who have reached the age of 18 can marry without parental consent in Arkansas.


Arkansas Common Law Marriage

Arkansas does not recognize common law marriages.


Arkansas Marriage License

  • Residency:  You do not have to be a resident of Arkansas to obtain a marriage license there.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Individuals between the ages of 18 and 21 must present one of the following: state-certified birth certificate, active military ID card, or valid passport. For those 21 and older, a valid driver’s license is enough.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Arkansas.
  • Previous Marriages:  If either party has been previously married, that party will have to bring a certified copy of the divorce decree. This is also required if your name has changed. Widows must provide information on the death of their former spouse.
  • Length of License:  Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days in Arkansas from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  In general, the fee for an Arkansas marriage license is $59, payable in cash only, but other fees may vary by county.
  • Filling Out the License/Submitting the License:  Both individuals must be present.
  • Authorized Arkansas Officiants:  To be an authorized Arkansas officiant, ministers must file with any Arkansas county recorder.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption