Idaho Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 15, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A valid Idaho marriage license is required to get married in the state of Idaho. Idaho marriage laws also set specific guidelines for obtaining a marriage license. Minors face parental consent issues and potentially even obtaining a court order. The details of Idaho marriage laws are set forth below.

 

Idaho Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds wishing to be married in Idaho must be accompanied by at least one parent or guardian when applying for the Idaho marriage license. Individuals under the age of 16 must also obtain a court order.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 years of age and older may marry without any parental consent.

 

Idaho Common Law Marriage

Idaho does not recognize new common law marriages. However, common law marriages created before 1996 are still recognized in Idaho.

 

Idaho Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None required.
  • Identification Required:  Each individual must present a valid form of photo identification, such as a driver’s license or passport.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Idaho.
  • Length of License:  No expiration.
  • Fees:  $30, payable in cash only.
  • Filling Out the License/Submitting the License:  Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Authorized Idaho Officiants:  Any judge or member of the clergy.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption