Michigan Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Michigan marriage laws require parties to obtain a valid marriage license before getting married in the state. Doing so requires following the details set forth below. Minors face parental consent requirements, while previously married individuals may need to bring certified proof that their former marriage ended.


Michigan Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Michigan only if their parents appear at the time of application and submit written consent. Minors who are 15 and younger must, in addition to parental consent, obtain the approval of a Michigan probate court.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older in Michigan may marry without any parental consent.


Michigan Common Law Marriage

Michigan does not recognize common law marriages. However, the state does recognize common law marriages that were validly created in another state.


Michigan Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement, but non-residents must pay a slightly higher fee and can only apply in the county in which they are intending to be married.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo identification, such as a driver’s license.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not available in Michigan. However, only one party need be present for the application, along with identification of the other party.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must at least provide the dates and locations that the previous marriage ended. If the previous marriage ended in the last 6 months, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required. Some counties may require certified copies no matter how long ago the marriage ended, so it is a good idea to call ahead.
  • Length of License:  30 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  $20 for residents, $30 for non-residents.
  • Authorized Michigan Officiants: Any judge or district court magistrate, mayors, county clerks, and ordained ministers.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption