Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Entering a legal marriage in Missouri requires obtaining a valid Missouri marriage license. Missouri marriage law puts certain restraints in place for minors and for those who have been recently divorced. Additionally, Missouri does not recognize common law marriages on its own, but does recognize those validly entered into in another state. See below for more details on the requirements for applying for a Missouri marriage license.
Missouri Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: Minors between the ages of 15 and 17 may marry in Missouri only with parental consent. Minors 14 and younger must also obtain an order from a circuit court judge. A judge will only grant such an order for “good cause.”
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Missouri without parental consent.
Missouri Common Law Marriage
The state of Missouri does not recognize common law marriages, but does recognize those that were validly created in another state.
Missouri Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Photo ID such as a driver’s license, and a social security card.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in Missouri.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals must provide the date their previous marriage ended, and cannot get a marriage license until 30 days after the divorce was finalized.
- Length of License: 30 days from the time of issuance.
- Fees: $50, payable in cash only.
- Authorized Missouri Officiants: Any Circuit Court or Associate Circuit Court judge, and any ordained minister.