Utah Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Utah marriage laws require couples wishing to marry in Utah to fulfill a number of requirements before the wedding. A valid Utah marriage license must be issued to the couple. While any adult can successfully apply for a license on their own, minors face parental consent restrictions. Utah also is one of the few states that continue to recognize common law marriages. For more on the details of Utah marriage laws, see below.


Utah Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Utah only with parental consent. Minors 15 and younger must, in addition to parental consent, get court approval. A judge will only approve if the marriage is voluntary and in the “best interests” of the minor. The judge may also require premarital counseling on a case-by-case basis.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Utah without parental consent.


Utah Common Law Marriage

The state of Utah recognizes common law marriages. Establishing a common law marriage in Utah essentially requires proof of four elements: the couple must (1) be of legal age and capable of giving consent, (2) cohabitate, (3) mutually assume the duties, rights, and obligations of a marriage, and (4) hold themselves out to the public as husband and wife.


Utah Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required: Standard photo ID such as a driver’s license or passport, and social security number must also be presented.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not available in Utah. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide the date that the previous marriage ended, such as the date of divorce or the date of death of the former spouse.
  • Length of License:  30 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Generally $45.
  • Copies:  Two certified copies are included in the application fee.
  • Authorized Utah Officiants:  Ordained ministers, priests, rabbis, judges, county clerks, and mayors.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption