Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Illinois marriage requires a valid Illinois marriage license. Illinois marriage laws provide specific rules for couples wishing to get married in Illinois. Additional documentary requirements may apply to minors and those who have been divorced. Also, Illinois does not recognize common law marriages. See below for more details on Illinois marriage.
Illinois Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must provide sworn consent of their parents, in person. Minors under 16 cannot get married in Illinois.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may get married in Illinois without parental consent.
Illinois Common Law Marriage
Illinois does not recognize common law marriages.
Illinois Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement exists, but non-residents cannot obtain an Illinois marriage license if they could not be married in their state of residence.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Individuals must simply present a valid ID such as a driver’s license or passport.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in Illinois. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: If either party has been divorced, a certified copy of the divorce decree is required.
- Length of License: Illinois marriage licenses are valid for 60 days after issuance. Note that a Cook County marriage license cannot be used in any other Illinois county.
- Fees: Generally $30, but fees can vary by county. The fee is payable in cash only.
- Authorized Illinois Officiants: Judges (both active and retired), ordained ministers, and any public officials whose duties include solemnization of marriage.