North Carolina Marriage
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
North Carolina marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid North Carolina marriage license before the ceremony. Individuals under 21 face various identification requirements, and those under 18 also must obtain parental consent. Additional restrictions may apply, so be sure to check the North Carolina marriage laws outlined below.
North Carolina Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must obtain written and notarized parental consent to be married in North Carolina. A certified copy of a birth certificate is also necessary. 14 and 15 year-olds must obtain a court order, in addition to parental consent. Minors under 14 cannot marry in North Carolina.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in North Carolina without parental consent. However, 18 to 20 year-olds must provide a certified copy of their birth certificate.
North Carolina Common Law Marriage
The state of North Carolina does not recognize common law marriages.
North Carolina Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Proof of age required, such as a driver’s license or certified copy of birth certificate. Proof of social security number also required.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in North Carolina. However, only one party need be present at the time of application, with a notarized affidavit from the absent partner.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals must provide the dates those marriages ended. If occurring in the past 60 days, a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate is required.
- Length of License: 60 days from the time of issuance.
- Fees: $50, payable in cash only.
- Authorized North Carolina Officiants: Any ordained minister.