Maryland Resident with previous DUI Received DUI in DE

I have a DUI in MD from 2005 which I received a PBJ (probation before judgment) for. I recently was charged with a DUI in DE. Will the PBJ for my first DUI in MD count as a first conviction in DE? There is a mandatory jail term of 60 days for a second conviction in DE.

Asked on July 6, 2009 under Criminal Law, Maryland

Answers:

B. B., Member, New Jersey Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

I'd expect that you are now looking at a second offense, on the Delaware charge;  at the very least, you will have to do the full sentence for a first offense, with no diversionary program possible.  You should talk to a Delaware lawyer about this, for detailed advice about what you are facing.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.