I’m 19 and live in Wyoming. I recently got my 2nd possession of marijuana ticket (2.5g). I was wondering what kind of punishment i can expect?

When i got caught i had 2 pipes, and 2.5 grams of weed. I was cooperative and did not argue.

Asked on July 5, 2009 under Criminal Law, Wyoming

Answers:

L.M., Member, California Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

Possession of three ounces or less of marijuana is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $1,000. (Possession of greater than three ounces carries a penalty of up to five years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.) Any possession within 500 feet of a school increases the fine by $500. First offenders may be placed on conditional probation and may have the proceedings discharged.  Second and subsequent offenses are subject to double the possible penalties.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.