Is there a right to accrued vacation time under California law?
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Aug 9, 2012
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the laws of many states, employees have no right to vacation time or pay. However, once provided by an employer, vacation is treated under California law as compared to many other states and under federal law.
Under California law, it is also true that there is no right to paid vacation time, but if an employer establishes a policy or practice of providing paid vacation, am employer does not have carte blance to limit how much vacation time is accrued. A “use it or lose it” vacation policy is unlawful under California law. This type of vacation policy is one that grants paid vacation in a certain amount for a certain period and then says if you don’t use the vacation within that defined period, too bad, you can no longer use it. For example, if an employer has a policy that allows 10 days of paid vacation per calendar year but says if you don’t use all 10 days in the calendar year in which they are earned, they are lost.
However, it is legal for an employer to allow vacation time to accrue to a reasonable cap after which no more vacation time accrues. In the case of an employer with a vacation allotment of 10 days, a reasonable accrual cap might be two times the annual vacation allotment, or 20 days, after which no more vacation accrues until some is used. Of course, an accrual cap should be clearly spelled out in writing such as in an employee handbook.
In contrast, in Wisconsin it is presumed that you get to keep your vacation pay unless there is a company policy to the contrary. In other words, in Wisconsin, the presumption is that you can carry it over. In many other states, imposing a “use it or lose it” policy is lawful, unless there is an agreement that states differently between the employer and employee.