GA Employment Law’Overtime, Leave Entitlement, and Wage and Hours

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Georgia is subject to federal and state employment and labor laws, which dictate to employers minimum wage, overtime, and family leave requirements. When you are considering an employment law question, it’s important to learn whether it is state or federal law that applies. In some states, the state laws are more generous than the federal regulations, whereas in other states the reverse is true. This article explains wage and hour laws in the state as well as employees’ rights under the Federal and Medical Leave Act.

Georgia Minimum Wage

Georgia’s minimum wage for employers with 6 or more employees is consistent with the federal amount at $6.55 per hour (July 2008). For Georgia employees who earn cash tips in the course of their work, the acceptable minimum wage is $2.13 per hour. Nevertheless, if a worker’s hourly earnings plus tips do not equal or exceed the federal minimum wage, the employer must “make up the difference” and pay them so that their earnings are equal to the federal minimum.

Georgia Overtime Laws

Georgia’s overtime laws require that all employees be paid time and a half (one and one half times the regular rate of pay) when they work more than 40 hours per week. Several groups of employees are exempt from the overtime laws. These include police officers and firefighters in departments with less than 5 employees, executive and professional employees, administrators, employees who work on commission, apprentices and interns, airline employees and taxi drivers, commercial fishermen or boat crewmen, in-home attendants, caretakers or babysitters, newspaper delivery people, railroad workers, and film workers.

Georgia Family and Medical Leave

Georgia workers who are employed by companies with 50 employees are more are covered under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). Under this law, employers must guarantee that the employee’s job (or a similar position) will be there on the employee’s return.

Employment Law Resources

Are you worried that your employer has denied you your proper wage, overtime pay, or leave? If so, you should phone the federal Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division at 1-866-4-US-WAGE to file a complaint. Your employer may not discriminate against you or harass you for claiming legitimate benefits without legal consequences.

You can visit the Georgia Department of Labor’s Web site. You may also wish to hire a Georgia employment attorney who will advice you on your rights.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption