My tenants are on a month to month contract with me. Do I have a right to give her 30 day notice with no reason. Don’t want her on property anymore.

Asked on June 16, 2009 under Real Estate Law, Oklahoma

Answers:

M.T.G., Member, New York Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

Yes, if your tenants have no written lease you can give them a thirty day notice to vacate.  How this is done can be very specific.  You should go down to the Landlord Tenant Court in the county in which you live and speak with a clerk.  They may have a list of procedures you need to follow (a "to do" list) that will include service, etc.  They may even have a form or at least let you know where you can get one.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.