Utah Workers’ Compensation Claims
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Utah workers’ compensation claims may be filed when a Utah employee has suffered an occupational injury or illness. The claim should be submitted to the Division of Industrial Actions with the Utah Labor Commission. By filing a Utah workers’ compensation claim for benefits, an injured or sick worker may receive medical benefits, income replacement benefits, permanent disability benefits, and/or death benefits. An experienced Utah workers’ compensation attorney is sometimes necessary to sort out complex cases and to make sure your claim for benefits is not denied for procedural reasons.
Process for Utah Workers’ Compensation Claims
To ensure that you do not miss out on the opportunity to file for and receive workers’ compensation benefits, you should report your employment-related injury to your boss promptly, and in no event more than 180 days after the date you are injured. Because filing for workers’ compensation benefits is time-sensitive, it is in your best interest to notify your employer immediately.
It’s imperative to note that the Utah workers’ compensation statute of limitations is 1 year from the date you have been injured. If you fail to submit your claim within the 1 year period, the statute of limitations will bar you from getting income replacement and medical benefits from your employer’s workers’ compensation insurer.
Within seven days of hearing about your work injury, your boss must submit an “Employer’s First Report of Injury or Illness,” (Form 122) to the Utah Labor Commission’s Division of Industrial Actions. Your boss must also make sure that you get a copy of the injury report.
In addition, you should see a doctor and receive treatment for your employment-connected injury as soon as you can. Make sure that you mention to your treating physician that your injury occurred at or is related to your job. Within seven days of initially treating your workplace injury, the doctor should then complete a “Physician’s Initial Report of Injury or Illness” (Form 123).
If you are unsure how to complete and submit a Utah workers’ compensation claim for benefits, or have questions or concerns about doing so, don’t hesitate to call an experienced Utah workers’ compensation attorney.
Reasons to Hire a Utah Workers’ Compensation Attorney
If your occupational injury or disease is difficult to prove, or if your employer is not insured or does not have adequate workers’ compensation insurance, you should contact an attorney who can persuasively argue your claim and make sure you are aware of all your options and benefits under Utah workers’ compensation law.
Because the consequences of not receiving workers’ compensation benefits during your recovery period from your occupational disease or accidental injury can be serious and far-reaching, it’s highly recommended that you hire a Utah workers’ compensation attorney to handle your claim, especially if you are facing a lengthy period of recovery or if your case is complicated. Complicated cases may include those where your claim has been contested by your uncooperative boss, your claim has been denied, or where a third party partially caused your injury and you need to recover from the third party in addition to recovering from your employer.