Florida Small Claims Court

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2019

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

If you’re thinking of filing a lawsuit concerning a sum of less than $5,000 in Florida, you should file your claim in Florida small claims court. Small claims are handled in the Florida county courts in a much less formal proceeding than traditional litigation. The small claims system is handled “pro se,” meaning that the plaintiff (person filing the lawsuit) and defendant (person being sued) handle their claim without an attorney.

Common types of small claims lawsuits handled in the Florida courts include landlord-tenant disputes, personal injury, car accidents, damage to personal property, and sums of money owed.

Claim Limit: Claims under $5,000 in value.

Where to File: You should file your Florida small claim in the county court in the county where the breach or injury occurred, or where the defendant(s) resides.

Types of Cases: Landlord-tenant disputes, breach of contract, car accidents, property damage, personal injury.

Who Is Eligible To File: Individuals or business entities. Individuals must be at least age 18 to file. Minors may have a parent or guardian file on their behalf.

Filing Your Claim: You must file a statement of claim with the county court to initiate your small claim. Be ready with contact information, pertinent documentation, and a statement about the nature of your claim. After paying your filing fee, you will be asked to serve the paperwork on the defendant via certified mail or sheriff service, then file a service of process form with the court to further the claim.

If You Need Help: While you may seek legal advice from court employees or legal librarians, they may not be willing or able to give you any legal help specific to your case if state laws and court rules prohibit them from doing so. Contact a Florida small claims attorney or the local bar association for more information and referrals if you feel you cannot go it alone. 

For more state-specific information and links to your state’s small claims court resources, see Small Claims Court Information and Links.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption