Florida D-6 License Suspensions: Defined

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Florida’s laws on license suspensions are some of the toughest in the United States. According to recent statistics from the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, approximately 30 percent of Florida’s motoring public is currently under some sort of a suspension. That equates to nearly 4.6 million people – many of whom don’t even know it.

D-6 suspensions

According to David Haenel, an attorney based on Florida’s west coast whose practice focuses on Florida suspended license issues, a D-6 suspension is a serious matter and something that many drivers just don’t understand. Haenel explained:

One example of a D-6 suspension would be a failure to appear in criminal court to address a charge. It’s called a D-6 because the court is taking action through the clerk because you didn’t do something with your citation. Let’s say you get a criminal driving while license suspended citation and you don’t show up for your court date.

In lieu of issuing a bench warrant, the judge may say, ‘I’m just going to D-6 his or her license.’ Basically, it’s telling the DHSMV to suspend the license and not to reinstate it until the person comes before that court and gets an order from the judge reinstating the license.

It’s almost in lieu of issuing a bench warrant. In some situations, the D-6 is used interchangeably when somebody didn’t take care of a traffic ticket within a certain time period, then they D-6 the license.

Judges issuing more warrants

While D-6 suspensions are still common, Haenel says that judges seem to be issuing warrants more and more warrants these days. He continued, “Unfortunately, you’re seeing fewer D-6ing of licenses and more warrants. That’s a whole problem in and of itself because that just clogs the court docket even more and clogs the state attorney’s office because now the prosecutor is getting involved and having to put that case or that ticket into a warrants file. So then, that little ticket for $115 now becomes a criminal offense, and if you missed your court date, now you’ve got a warrant and it just goes on and on and on.”

If your license has been suspended in Florida, contact an attorney whose practice focuses on license suspension issues. Click here, to contact a Florida criminal attorney.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption