DUI out of state
UPDATED: May 5, 2009
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Get Legal Help Today
Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
DUI out of state
Is there a statute of limitations for Texas if the driver was from another state and was never notified of further action?
Asked on May 5, 2009 under Criminal Law, Montana
N. K., Member, Iowa and Illinois Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney
Answered 13 years ago | Contributor
Statute of limitations means that the state has to file a formal charging instrument against you within a certain time period. In Texas, it is 2 years for a misdemeanor and 3 years (or more) for a felony.
If you were given a ticket/citation for the DUI, then technically you were charged with the crime.
You may want to consult a DUI attorney about this matter just to be sure before you travel to Texas again.
IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.