Arizona DUI Fines & Sentencing

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Arizona is among one of the toughest states in the nation with respect to DUI laws.  When faced with an Arizona DUI arrest and/or conviction, there are a number of issues to consider: Will you have to serve jail time? If so, for how long? Or is probation a possibility? What will you owe in fines? Will your license be suspended, and for how long? Will you have to go to a DUI school or do community service? Here are the basic laws regarding Arizona DUI fines and sentencing.

Arizona DUI Glossary of Terms
Arizona DUI Insurance Consequences
What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunck Driving?
How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

First Arizona DUI Offense:

Criminal Status: Class 1 misdemeanor. Aggravated DUI elevates criminal status to a felony. An aggravated DUI is a DUI (impaired, per se or extreme) that is committed: (1) on a suspended, revoked or canceled license; (2) a third DUI offense in 5 years; or (3) while a person under 15 is in the vehicle.

Jail: DUI: 1-10 days. Extreme DUI: 10-30 days. Aggravated DUI: Terms in prison vary depending on violation.

Arizona DUI Fines/Costs: Minimum $250 (plus $500 for the prison construction fund and $500 for the state general fund).

-Extreme DUI: Minimum $250 (plus $250 DUI assessment, $1,000 for the prison construction fund, and another $1000 for the state general fund)
-Aggravated DUI: Minimum $750 (plus $250 DUI assessment and $1,500 for the prison construction fund and $1,500 for the state general fund).

Jail costs: An 80% surcharge on the base fine is levied on each DUI offense.

Arizona License Suspension: DUI: 90 days. Extreme DUI: 1 year. If aggravated DUI, license revoked for 3 years.

Arizona Probation: DUI: Up to 5 years (informal, may not be supervised). Aggravated DUI: 10 years.

Vehicle Impound: Yes, for extreme DUI and aggravated DUI.

Arizona Alcohol Screening/Education Treatment: Mandatory for aggravated DUI. Possible for other DUI offenses.

Arizona Ignition Interlock Device: Required for first-time, extreme and aggravated DUI offenders for a minimum of one-year.  Note, in 2011, Senate Bill 1200 has proposed to decrease the first-time offender ignition interlock device to six-months from one-year.

Community Service: May be ordered to perform community service.

 

Second Arizona DUI Offense Plus:

Criminal Status: Class 1 misdemeanor.

Jail: DUI: 30-90 days. For extreme DUI, 60-120 days. For aggravated DUI, maximum 2 year prison term.

Arizona DUI Fines/Costs: Minimum $500 (plus $1,250 for the prison construction and operations fund and $1,250 for the general fund).

— Extreme DUI, a base fine of $500, plus additional assessments of $250 for prison construction and operations fund and $1250 for general fund.

Jail costs: An 80% surcharge on the base fine is levied on each DUI offense.

Arizona License Revocation: 1 year revocation both DUI and extreme DUI levels. For aggravated DUI, 3 years revocation.

Vehicle Impound: If driving privilege is suspended, yes.

Vehicle Forfeiture: Yes for aggravated DUIs.

Arizona Probation: Up to 5 years (informal, may not be supervised), 10 years for aggravated DUI.

Arizona Alcohol Screening/Education and Treatment: Yes.

Arizona Ignition Interlock Device: Required for all three offenses.

Community Service: May be ordered to perform community service.

 

Other:

Commercial Vehicle: BAC limit for drivers of commercial vehicles is 0.04.

Under Age: 21

Arizona DUI Insurance Consequences: Link to FA Insurance site.

Arizona Open Container Laws: Yes. Driver/passenger.

Driver Responsibility Tax: No.

More Arizona DUI Information – Arizona DUI lawyers, attorneys, convictionsArizona DUI Statutes, ResourcesDo you need a DUI Lawyer?

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption