Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Apr 8, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

When faced with a Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL arrest and/or conviction, there are a number of issues to consider: Will you have to serve jail time? If so, for how long? Or is probation a possibility? What will you owe in fines? Will your license be suspended, and for how long? Will you have to go to a DUI/OWI/OUIL school or do community service? Here are the basic laws regarding Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL fines and sentencing.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Glossary of Terms

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

How Long Does a DUI Affect Your Insurance in Michigan?

First Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Offense:

Michigan Criminal Status: OWI: Misdemeanor; OUIL/BAC Per Se: Misdemeanor.

Jail: OWI: Not more than 93 days; OUIL/BAC Per Se: Not more than 93 days.  If operating a vehicle with a BAC of 0.17 or more the 93-day misdemeanor sentence will be increased to a 180-day misdemeanor sentence. Also, mandatory participation and successful completion of a treatment program for at least one year.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Fines/Costs: OWI: Not more than $300; OUIL/BAC Per Se: $100-$500.

Michigan License Suspension: OWI: v90 day restricted; OUIL/BAC Per Se: 30 day suspension; 150 day restricted.

Violation of Zero Tolerance Law: Violation is a misdemeanor; sentence may include not more than 360 hours of community service and a fine of not more than $250.

Vehicle Immobilization: Immobilization may be ordered at the court’s discretion.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL School: Check with your local Substance Abuse Regional Coordinating Agency for a list of approved DUI/OWI/OUIL schools and programs.

Michigan Community Service: OWI: Not more than 360 hours; OUIL/BAC Per Se: Not more than 360 hours.

 

Second Michigan DUI/OUI/OUIL Offense Plus:

Michigan Criminal Status: OWI: Misdemeanor; OUIL/BAC Per Se: Misdemeanor. A 3rd offense or more is a felony.

Jail: OWI: 5 days to 1 year; OUIL/BAC Per Se: 5 days to 1 year. A 3rd offense or more may result in 1-5 years in prison.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Fines/Costs: OWI: $200-$1,000; OUIL/BAC Per Se: $200-$1,000. A 3rd offense or more may result in $500-$5,000.

Michigan License Suspension: OWI: 90 day restricted; OUIL/BAC Per Se: 30 day suspension; 150 day restricted.

Violation of Zero Tolerance Law: Violation is a misdemeanor; sentence may include not more than 60 days of community service, a fine of not more than $500 and not more than 93 days in prison.

Vehicle Immobilization: Immobilization shall be ordered by the court.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL School: Check with your local Substance Abuse Regional Coordinating Agency for a list of approved DUI/OWI/OUIL schools and programs.

Michigan Community Service: OWI: 30-90 days; OUIL/BAC Per Se: 30-90 days. A 3rd offense can result in 60-180 days community service.

 

Other:

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

Under Age: 21 years.

Michigan Open Container Laws: Yes. Driver/Passenger.

How long does a DUI/OWI/OUIL stay on your record? A DUI conviction in Michigan stays on your driving record for life.

Driver Responsibility Tax: Yes.

Ignition interlock device program: May be required by court, at its discretion, as a condition of probation.

More Michigan DUI Information – Michigan DUI Lawyers & ConvictionsMichigan DUI Statutes, ResourcesDo you need a DUI Lawyer?Post your Case to an Michigan DUI Attorney. No Cost. No Obligation.