My question is: If you let someone borrow your car and they get stop by a policeman, and they get a ticket for no insurance what are my legal rights?

What is the mississippi law states for car insurance?

Asked on June 2, 2009 under Insurance Law, Mississippi

Answers:

B. B., Member, New Jersey Bar / FreeAdvice Contributing Attorney

Answered 11 years ago | Contributor

I'm not a Mississippi lawyer, but my research suggests that, like most states, both the owner and the operator of an uninsured vehicle can be ticketed for this.  It's a $1,000 fine and suspension of your driver's license until the car is insured;  if you have insurance (and have the card to prove it), you can get the fine reduced to $100.  It's time to buy the insurance, I can't imagine it would cost you the $900 it will save in court.

The ticket is one of the smaller risks of driving without insurance, really.  If you are at fault in an accident and someone is badly hurt, you could lose everything you own, once they get a judgment.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Answer(s) provided above are for general information only. The attorney providing the answer was not serving as the attorney for the person submitting the question or in any attorney-client relationship with such person. Laws may vary from state to state, and sometimes change. Tiny variations in the facts, or a fact not set forth in a question, often can change a legal outcome or an attorney's conclusion. Although AttorneyPages.com has verified the attorney was admitted to practice law in at least one jurisdiction, he or she may not be authorized to practice law in the jurisdiction referred to in the question, nor is he or she necessarily experienced in the area of the law involved. Unlike the information in the Answer(s) above, upon which you should NOT rely, for personal advice you can rely upon we suggest you retain an attorney to represent you.