Florida DUI: How Long Will Your License Be Revoked?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 24, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

If you’ve been arrested for driving while under the influence (DUI) in Florida, you should know that your license will be revoked – even if it’s your first conviction. However, the revocation time depends on your individual situation.

Revocation periods for Florida DUI

William D. Umansky, a Florida attorney with over 15 years of experience whose practice focuses in the areas of personal injury and criminal defense, provided us with Florida’s DUI revocation periods:

  • 1st conviction: The revocation period is a minimum of six months for a first conviction with a maximum of one year.
  • 2nd conviction: A second conviction within five years results in a minimum five year revocation – although you may be able to get a hardship license after one year. If it’s a second conviction outside of five years, then it’s a minimum 180-day revocation with a maximum of one year.
  • 3rd conviction: If it’s a third conviction within ten years, it’s a minimum ten-year revocation of your license. You will not be able to get a hardship license for at least two years in that situation. If you are a third offender outside of ten years, then it’s a six month revocation with a maximum of one year. However if you are a third offender and you have one conviction more than ten years prior and then one within five years, you lose your license for five years.
  • 4th conviction: If you have a fourth conviction, regardless of when the prior convictions occurred, it’s a mandatory permanent revocation and there’s no hardship reinstatement.
  • DUI manslaughter: DUI manslaughter equates to a mandatory, permanent revocation of your license. However, if you have no prior DUI related convictions, you may be able to get a hardship license after five years. If you are charged with manslaughter, DUI, serious bodily injury or vehicle homicide, it’s a minimum three-year license revocation.

If you have a DUI issue, contact an experienced Florida DUI lawyer to discuss your situation and evaluate your options. Consultations are free, without obligation and are strictly confidential.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption