2015 Intellectual Property Legal News Archives

December 2015

Director of US Patent Office Calls for More Women Inventors

Monday, 7 December, 2015

The Case of the Dueling Dumplings: A Trade Secret Dispute

Thursday, 3 December, 2015

November 2015

Game Mods and Car Hacks Now Legal Under Copyright Law

Wednesday, 18 November, 2015

Are 3D-Printed Human Organs Patentable?

Wednesday, 11 November, 2015

October 2015

Court Says Yoga Poses Aren't Protected by Copyright Law

Wednesday, 14 October, 2015

Holy Copyright Law, Batman! The Batmobile is a Protected Character

Monday, 12 October, 2015

Fox News Anchor Doesn't Want to Share Her Name with a Hamster

Friday, 9 October, 2015

Judge Slams LMFAO, Says Lyrics Not Fresh

Friday, 2 October, 2015

Should It Be Legal to Sell Used Print Cartridges?

Thursday, 1 October, 2015

Judge Orders $10 Million Set Aside in Fifty Shades Litigation

Thursday, 1 October, 2015

September 2015

How Brands Like Google Try to Avoid Trademark Genericide

Wednesday, 23 September, 2015

How Could Fixing a Tractor Violate Copyright Law?

Friday, 11 September, 2015

August 2015

Graffiti Artist Claims Katy Perry's Dress Infringes His Copyright

Monday, 31 August, 2015

Judge Says EOS Lip Balm Case Should Go to Jury

Friday, 21 August, 2015

Facebook and the Ronda Rousey Copyright Fight

Thursday, 20 August, 2015

Can You Patent a Pot Plant?

Monday, 10 August, 2015

The Smoking Gun in the Happy Birthday War?

Wednesday, 5 August, 2015

July 2015

Sound Engineer Must Pay Jay-Z $195K after Failed Copyright Case

Monday, 27 July, 2015

Can You Be Sued by Graffiti Artists for Painting Over Their Work?

Tuesday, 7 July, 2015

June 2015

What Do the Washington Redskins Have in Common with an Asian-American Rock Band?

Thursday, 25 June, 2015

Court Throws Out Patent for Prenatal DNA Testing

Monday, 22 June, 2015

Writer Claims Hollywood Talent Agency Stole Idea for The Purge

Friday, 19 June, 2015

Can Other People Sell Your Instagram Photos?

Tuesday, 16 June, 2015

Miramax Sued for Copyright Infringement Over Sherlock Holmes Movie

Monday, 8 June, 2015

Learning About Intellectual Property Law from HBOs Silicon Valley

Thursday, 4 June, 2015

Federal Circuit Says Apple Can't Protect Look of iPhone

Tuesday, 2 June, 2015

May 2015

Online Music - From Piracy to Profit

Thursday, 14 May, 2015

April 2015

Seth MacFarlane Prevails in Copyright Infringement Suit over Ted Movie

Friday, 3 April, 2015

March 2015

Judge Rules Fox News' Use of Flag Photo Was Not Fair Use

Saturday, 28 March, 2015

Dentist Misused Copyright Law to Block Bad Yelp Reviews

Tuesday, 17 March, 2015

Blurred Lines Between Homage and Plagiarism in Copyright Case

Monday, 16 March, 2015

Can Taylor Swift Really Trademark Her Song Lyrics?

Monday, 9 March, 2015

Court Dismisses $3 Billion Claim by Heirs of Aunt Jemima

Wednesday, 4 March, 2015

February 2015

Is Your Business Using Pirated Software?

Wednesday, 18 February, 2015

Using Copyright Law to Fight Revenge Porn

Thursday, 12 February, 2015

Judge Rejects Joke Defense in Don Henley Trademark Case

Thursday, 5 February, 2015

January 2015

Dallas Buyer's Club Pirates Sued

Wednesday, 21 January, 2015

Music Companies Try to Stop Piracy by Suing Service Providers

Monday, 12 January, 2015