Wisconsin Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by Jeffrey Johnson
Insurance Lawyer Jeffrey Johnson

UPDATED: Dec 2, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Wisconsin marriage laws provide specific guidelines for couples wishing to marry in Wisconsin. Couples must first obtain a valid marriage license. Age restrictions apply, as minors must obtain parental consent before a license will be issued. The state of Wisconsin also does not recognize common law marriages. A summary of Wisconsin marriage laws is offered below.


Wisconsin Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must obtain parental consent in order to apply for a marriage license in Wisconsin. The parent will be required to sign a notarized consent form. Minors younger than 16 will not be issued a marriage license in Wisconsin.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can apply for a marriage license in Wisconsin without parental consent.


Wisconsin Common Law Marriage

The state of Wisconsin does not recognize common law marriages.


Wisconsin Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID such as a driver’s license, certified copy of birth certificate, and social security card.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in Wisconsin. Both parties must apply in person.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide certified proof of the ending of the previous marriage, whether it is a divorce decree or death certificate. Divorced individuals must wait at least 6 months from the time that divorce was finalized in order to re-marry.
  • Length of License:  30 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Vary by county, but generally $105 to $115, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Wisconsin Officiants:  Judges, court commissioners, and ordained ministers.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption