Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 6, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

According to various federal sexual harassment laws under groups such as the EEOC (Equal Employment Opportunity Commission), there are statutes of limitations, or time limits, on sexual harassment claims. This means that a person seeking to file a claim or to sue for sexual harassment must do so within a certain limited window of time after the incident takes place.

The actual time window to file a sexual harassment claim will vary by state. In some cases, the EEOC’s rule, which place the time limit at 180 days from the date of the harassment, is considered the working rule, and thus any sexual harassment claim must fall within this time frame. In other states, however, local state laws may override the EEOC rule, and can extend the time period to 300 days or perhaps one year from the date of the last incident of harassment.

In other words, the worst case scenario might be that you have 180 days from the date when you last endured sexual harassment in which to file a claim. Depending on your state, you may have more time.

If you go beyond the time period to file a sexual harassment claim, your claim will be time barred. This means you will no longer be able to recover damages or bring legal action as a result of the sexual harassment. As such, in order to avoid limiting yourself in the future, it’s extremely wise to contact a sexual harassment attorney as soon as possible if you suspect that you might have a sexual harassment case on your hands. The attorney with lots of exeprience in sexual harassment suits will be well-versed in the time limitations that apply in your specific jurisdiction. He or she are in the best position to properly advise you regarding your legal options.