West Virginia Marriage
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Dec 2, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
West Virginia couples wishing to tie the knot must first obtain a valid marriage license from the state. Doing so requires following the guidelines set forth by West Virginia marriage laws, including meeting the age and consent requirements for minors, as well as the documentary requirements placed on previously married individuals. The information below provides the details on West Virginia marriage laws.
West Virginia Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must obtain parental consent before a marriage license will be issued in West Virginia. A certified copy of birth certificate will also be required. Minors younger than 16 must, in addition, get a court order. An exception exists for pregnant minors, who do not need parental consent as long as the pregnancy is verified with a written statement by a licensed physician.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in West Virginia without parental consent.
West Virginia Common Law Marriage
West Virginia does not recognize common law marriages.
West Virginia Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Photo ID such as a driver’s license or passport.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in West Virginia.
- Previous Marriages: In most counties, previously married individuals are required to provide certified copies of the divorce decree or death certificate to prove the ending of the previous marriage. It’s best to call ahead and inquire with the county in which you are planning to apply for a marriage license.
- Length of License: 60 days from the time of issuance.
- Fees: Vary by county, but generally $36, payable in cash only.
- Authorized West Virginia Officiants: Any ordained minister or court-appointed person eligible to perform civil weddings.