Washington Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Washington marriage laws require couples wishing to be married in the state of Washington to obtain a valid marriage license. Minors will need to obtain parental consent and, in some cases, court approval before a marriage license will be issued. Washington does not recognize common law marriages. For more on the details of Washington marriage laws, see the information below.


Washington Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 17 year-olds must have at least one parent with them at the time of the application to provide parental consent. Minors younger than 17 must also obtain approval from the Washington superior court judge in the county in which they reside.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can apply for a marriage license in the state of Washington without parental consent.


Washington Common Law Marriage

The state of Washington does not recognize common law marriages.


Washington Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Photo ID such as a driver’s license or passport, or a certified birth certificate.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  No proxy marriages in Washington. However, if one party is unable to be present at the time of the application, some counties may offer absentee marriage applications.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals do not need to provide documentary proof of the end of those marriages, but any divorce must be finalized before getting a marriage license in Washington.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Vary by county, but generally $60, payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Washington Officiants:  Any ordained or licensed minister.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption