Washington DC Marriage
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Dec 2, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Washington DC marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid marriage license before tying the knot. Certain restrictions apply for minors and previously married individuals. Also, Washington DC recognizes common law marriages. For more on the particulars of Washington DC marriage laws and the requirements for obtaining a Washington DC marriage license, see the information below.
Washington DC Marriage Consent Laws
With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can obtain a marriage license in Washington DC only by first getting parental consent, either written or in person. Minors younger than 16 cannot obtain a marriage license in Washington DC.
Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Washington DC without parental consent.
Washington DC Common Law Marriage
Washington DC recognizes common law marriages. According to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, a common law marriage in Washington DC requires two elements: (1) an express mutual agreement by the couple, followed by (2) cohabitation as husband and wife.
Washington DC Marriage License
Residency: No residency requirement.
Tests: No longer required.
Identification Required: Valid photo ID and certified birth certificate.
Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages available in Washington DC. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate proving the end of the previous marriage.
Length of License: No expiration.
Fees: $45, payable in cash only, and includes a certified copy of the marriage certificate.