Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Virginia marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid Virginia marriage license in order to marry in the state. Individuals under the age of 18 must obtain parental consent to get a marriage license. Additionally, previously married individuals may have to provide documentary proof of the end of that marriage. Virginia does not recognize common law marriages. For more on the specifics of Virginia marriage laws, see below.
Virginia Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Virginia only by first getting parental consent. Minors younger than 16 will not be issued a marriage license in Virginia except for circumstances such as pregnancy or orphanage.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can marry in Virginia without parental consent.
Virginia Common Law Marriage
Virginia does not recognize common law marriages.
Virginia Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Valid photo ID such as a driver’s license.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in Virginia. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals may have to provide certified proof of the end of the previous marriage. Requirements tend to vary by county, so it’s best to call ahead.
- Length of License: 60 days from time of issuance.
- Fees: Generally $30.
- Filling Out the License/Submitting the License: Couples must have a witness present for the signing of the application.
- Authorized Virginia Officiants: Any ordained minister or member of the clergy, or a court-appointed civil marriage celebrant.