Virginia DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Virginia DUI lawyers, Virginia DUI laws, and what a Virginia DUI attorney can do for you.
Virginia DUI Lawyers:
Find an experienced Virginia DUI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal
Post your case to a Virginia DUI Lawyer
Virginia DUI Convictions:
Jail: Imprisonment up to 5 days.
Fine: Range from $250 to $1,000.
License Revocation: 1 year.
Jail: A minimum of 20 days in jail, up to 1 year.
Fine: Range from $500 to $1,000.
License Revocation: 3 years.
Jail: A minimum of 6 months in jail.
Fine: A minimum of $1,000.
License Revocation: Permanent.
Ignition Interlock Device: Mandatory.
Virginia BAC Per Se: 0.08%
High BAC: 0.20%
BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%
Commercial Vehicle Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%
Virginia Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test, you will get a three-year license suspension if convicted of driving under the influence.