Utah Workers’ Compensation Laws
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Utah workers’ compensation laws govern the procedures and policies workers must follow to obtain benefits under the Utah workers’ compensation system.
Claims under Utah Workers’ Compensation Laws
Illnesses that arise because of a harmful workplace environment or that come about during the course and scope of the worker’s employment are covered by workers’ compensation insurance in Utah.
If you are injured in a workplace accident, your injury will be covered by Utah workers’ compensation law. On the other hand, if your injury is self-inflicted, or if you were using drugs or alcohol at the time of your injury, you cannot receive workers’ compensation benefits in Utah.
In addition, if a worker dies because of his on-the-job injury or work-related disease, relatives dependent on him may receive death benefits under the Utah workers’ compensation system.
Utah Workers’ Compensation Benefits
Your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance carrier will directly pay your medical services provider for any money owed for the treatment of your workplace injury or illness. Such treatment may include hospital and physicians’ bills, and any other medical services required. Any mileage costs you incur by traveling back and forth to physicians’ appointments for treatment, or to any other appointments for treatment of your occupational illness or injury, are also reimbursable by your employer’s workers’ compensation insurance provider. However, the worker must ask for reimbursement from his employer’s insurer within 1 year of the medical treatment.
If a worker ultimately passes away from his employment injury or illness, his spouse and children may get death benefits and up to $8,000 for burial costs.
In addition, while you recover from your affliction, you may be eligible for replacement income benefits, which are broken down into the following four categories:
1) Temporary Total Disability Benefits (TTD): If you are injured and cannot work for a time, you may get 2/3 of your pre-injury wage each week, and $5 a week for each of your dependents, subject to a statutory maximum.
2) Temporary Partial Disability Benefits (TPD): If you are partially medically restricted because of your injury or disease but you can still do some work tasks or work for shorter periods of time, you will be paid 2/3 of the difference between the amount you have been paid since your injury or the onset of your disease, and your pre-injury average weekly wage. You will also get $5 weekly for each of your dependents.
3) Permanent Partial Disability Benefits (PPD): After you have recovered to your maximum medical potential and can work in some capacity, but your injury still hinders you in some way and prevents you from doing the work you did before the injury, you will be paid an amount that is dependent on your impairment rating.
4) Permanent Total Disability Benefits (PTD): When your injury makes it completely impossible to seek gainful employment indefinitely, you may receive a weekly benefit of 2/3 of your pre-injury average weekly wage.
Utah Workers’ Compensation Statutes
For the complete text of Utah workers’ compensation statutes, including the relevant statutes listed below, see the Utah Workers’ Compensation Act.
Employers Subject To Workers’ Compensation: Workers’ Compensation Act, Title 34A, Chp.2 § 103; Covered Employees: Workers’ Compensation Act, Title 34A, Chp.2 § 104; Benefits: Workers’ Compensation Act, Title 34A, Chp.2 §§ 401-416; Claims Procedure: Workers’ Compensation Act, Title 34A, Chp.2 § 417.