Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Tennessee DUI lawyers, Tennessee DUI laws, and what a Tennessee DUI attorney can do for you.

Tennessee DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Tennessee DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Tennessee DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Tennessee DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Tennessee DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Tennessee DUI Convictions:

 

First Offense: 

Jail:  A minimum of 48 hours in jail, up to 11 months.

Fine:  Range from $350 to $1,500.

License Revocation:  1 year. 

Ignition Interlock Device:  Required to be installed in your vehicle if BAC is .15 or above.

 

Second Offense:  

Jail:  A minimum of 45 days in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine:  Range from $600 to $3,500.

License Revocation:   2 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order that an IID be installed and maintained on your vehicle(s) at your expense.

 

Third Offense:  

Jail:  A minimum of 120 days in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine:  Range from $1,100 to $10,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 3 to 10 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order that an IID be installed and maintained on your vehicle(s) at your expense.

Tennessee BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.20%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Vehicle Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Child Danger Enhancement:  If you are arrested for DUI with a passenger under 13 years old, then an additional 2-4 years in prision may be imposed.  If the child passenger suffers serious injury, then you will be charged with a Class D felony.  If a child is killed during a DUI offense, then you will be charged with a Class C felony.

Tennessee Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test on your first offense, your license will be revoked for one year.  If you refuse an alcohol test on your second offense, your license will be revoked for two years.