South Dakota DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for South Dakota DUI lawyers, South Dakota DUI laws, and what a South Dakota DUI attorney can do for you.

South Dakota DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

South Dakota DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

South Dakota DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced South Dakota DUI Attorney at

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

South Dakota DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 1 year in jail.

Fine:  Up to $1,000.

License Revocation:  30 days to 1 year.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 1 year in jail.

Fine:  Up to $1,000.

License Revocation:  180 days to 1 year.


Third Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 2 years in jail.  Charged as a felony.

Fine:  Up to $2,000.

License Revocation:  1 year.

South Dakota BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.17%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Vehicle Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

South Dakota Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test, your license will be suspended for one year.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption