South Carolina Marriage
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Tying the knot in South Carolina requires a valid South Carolina marriage license. Minors must get the consent of their parents before the state will issue a marriage license. South Carolina also recognizes common law marriages. The details on establishing a common law marriage, as well as the other requirements of South Carolina marriage laws are identified below.
South Carolina Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in South Carolina only with the consent of a parent.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older need not obtain parental consent to marry in South Carolina.
South Carolina Common Law Marriage
South Carolina continues to recognize common law marriages. Establishing a common law marriage requires proof of just two elements: (1) present intent of the parties, such as a public declaration of intent to be married, and (2) a mutual agreement between the parties to be husband and wife.
South Carolina Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Driver’s license or other standard form of identification, plus a social security number.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in South Carolina. Both parties must be present at the time of the application.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals do not have to show any proof that the marriage ended.
- Length of License: No expiration.
- Fees: Vary by county, but generally vary from $50 to $70.
- Authorized South Carolina Officiants: Judges, justices of the peace, and any ordained minister.