Rhode Island OUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

An OUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Rhode Island OUI lawyers, Rhode Island OUI laws, and what a Rhode Island OUI attorney can do for you.

Rhode Island DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Rhode Island DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Rhode Island OUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Rhode Island OUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Rhode Island OUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Rhode Island OUI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Up to 1 year in jail OR 10 to 60 hours of community service.

Fine:   Range from $100 to $1,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 30 days to 18 months.


Second Offense: 

Jail:  10 days in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine:  Range from $400 to $1,500.

License Revocation:  1 to 2 years.  After revocation, ignition interlock device must be installed for 1 to 2 years.


Third Offense: 

Jail:  1 to 5 years in jail.  Classified as a felony.

Fine:  Range from $400 to $5,500.

License Revocation:  2 to 3 years.  After revocation, an ignition interlock device must be installed for 2 years.

Rhode Island BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Rhode Island Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal to take an alcohol test can result in license suspension, fines, community service, educational courses or other punitive measures.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption