Oregon Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

Oregon marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid Oregon marriage license before tying the knot. Getting a marriage license requires following the procedure set out in Oregon. Marriage licenses will not be issued in Oregon to anyone under 17. Oregon marriage law also does not recognize common law marriages. For more on Oregon marriage law, see the information provided below.


Oregon Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 17 year olds can marry in Oregon, but only with parental consent, with the parent accompanying the minor at the time of application. Minors younger than 17 will not be issued a marriage license in Oregon.
  • Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older can marry in Oregon without parental consent.


Oregon Common Law Marriage

Oregon does not recognize common law marriages.


Oregon Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required:  Driver’s license or other standard form of identification.
  • Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages are not allowed in Oregon. Both parties must be present at the time of applying.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must provide the date the marriage ended, but generally do not need to provide any certified proof.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Ranging from $50 to $60, depending on the county. Generally payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Oregon Officiants:  Judges, justices of the peace, county clerks, and any ordained minister.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption