Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Claims
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Oklahoma workers’ compensation claims must be submitted to the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court within a specific time frame. A worker should file an Oklahoma workers’ compensation claim if he has been injured on the job, or if he has developed an occupational illness because of exposure to hazardous conditions at work. Benefits for injured or ill workers may include coverage for all healthcare expenses in treating the medical condition, as well as income replacement benefits. Oklahoma law mandates that all employers in Oklahoma carry workers’ compensation insurance for their employees.
Process for Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Claims
When you have been injured at work or develop an occupational illness, you should immediately seek medical attention and make sure to tell your treating physician that your medical condition resulted from your occupation. This evidence may become necessary later if your boss disputes your injuries or claims that your work did not cause them.
The second step you should take if you have suffered a work-related injury or disease is to promptly report your medical condition to your employer. In any case, you must tell your employer about your disease or injury no later than 30 days after you become sick or are injured. After you notify them, your employer, within 10 days, must submit an Employer’s First Notice of Injury (Form 2) to their workers’ compensation insurance provider and to the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court.
Your third step should be to file an Employee’s First Notice of Accidental Injury and Claim for Compensation (Form 3) with the Workers’ Compensation Court within two years of the first symptoms of your occupational disease, or of the date of your workplace accident. If you do not complete and submit this form within two years, you may be further barred by the statute of limitations from filing a claim for Oklahoma workers’ compensation benefits.
Lastly, you should get in touch with an experienced Oklahoma workers’ compensation lawyer who can help you get the workers’ compensation benefits you need.
Reasons to Hire an Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Attorney
You should hire an Oklahoma workers’ compensation attorney to assist you in considering your workers’ compensation options and to help you come up with a strategy if your case is complicated. Complex workers’ compensation cases may include cases where your employer does not have enough insurance or has no insurance at all, where your employer is uncooperative and contests your claim, or when your claim has been rejected. An Oklahoma workers’ compensation lawyer can make sure that you file your case within the required time period, and persuasively argue your case in front of the Oklahoma Workers’ Compensation Court. Remember that asserting your case for workers’ compensation before the Workers’ Compensation Court is a requirement in Oklahoma.
Additionally, if a third party is in some way responsible for your injury (such as a manufacturer whose faulty piece of equipment injured you) and you seek to recover from both the third party and from your employer, an Oklahoma workers’ compensation lawyer can help you structure your case so that this kind of recovery is possible.