Ohio Marriage

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Nov 30, 2010

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

The state of Ohio has established a series of requirements for obtaining a valid Ohio marriage license. A marriage license is a must for any couple wishing to be married in the state. Minors must obtain parental consent and, in some cases, a judicial decree. Additionally, divorcees are required to provide certified proof that the divorce was finalized. The following summarizes Ohio marriage laws.


Ohio Marriage Consent Laws

  • With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year olds must obtain parental consent and, depending on the county, may also need a court order. It’s a good idea to check with the county in which you plan to apply for specifics on minors and parental consent in that jurisdiction.
  • Without Parental Consent: Individuals 18 and older do not need parental consent to marry in Ohio. However, if you are between 18 and 21, you should bring a certified copy of your birth certificate for age verification purposes.


Ohio Common Law Marriage

Ohio does not recognize new common law marriages, but does recognize common law marriages created in the state prior to October 10, 1991.


Ohio Marriage License

  • Residency:  No residency requirement.
  • Tests: None.
  • Identification Required: Any government-issued ID such as a driver’s license or passport.
  • Appearance/Proxy:  Proxy marriages are not allowed in Ohio.
  • Previous Marriages:  Previously married individuals must present a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate to prove the dissolution of the marriage.
  • Length of License:  60 days from the time of issuance.
  • Fees:  Ranging from $40 to $50, depending on the county. Generally payable in cash only.
  • Authorized Ohio Officiants: Any ordained ministers.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption