Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for North Dakota DUI lawyers, North Dakota DUI laws, and what a North Dakota DUI attorney can do for you.

North Dakota DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

North Dakota DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

North Dakota DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced North Dakota DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a North Dakota DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

North Dakota DUI Convictions:

 

First Offense:   Mandatory referral to addiction facility for alcohol evaluation.

Fine:  A minimum fine of $250.

License Revocation:  Range from 91 days to 180 days.  Work permit possible after 30 days.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court or drivers license agency may order a person convicted of a DUI to install an IID on his or her vehicle.   This requirement applies to the issuance of temporary restricted driving privileges.  

 

Second Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of 5 days imprisonment or 30 days of community service.  Mandatory referral to addiction facility for alcohol evaluation.

   Fine:  Minimum fine $500.

   License Revocation:  Up to 1 year.

   Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court or drivers license agency may order a person convicted of a DUI to install an IID on  his or her vehicle.  This  requirement applies to the issuance of temporary restricted driving privileges.

 

Third Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of 60 days imprisonment.  Mandatory referral to addiction facility for alcohol evaluation 

Fine:  Minimum fine $1,000.

License Revocation:  Range from 2 to 3 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court or drivers license agency may order a person convicted of a DUI to install and IID on his or her vehicle(s).  This requirement applies to the issuance of temporary restricted driving privileges.

 

North Dakota BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.18 %

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02% to 0.07%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%

North Dakota Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusing to take an alcohol test can result in an administrative sanction and license loss for one to three years.