New York Marriage
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
New York marriage laws require couples to obtain a valid New York marriage license before the ceremony. Getting a license is a matter of following the New York marriage requirements set forth by the state. See below for details on these New York marriage requirements. The state of New York does not recognize common law marriages.
New York Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must obtain consent of both parents before getting a New York marriage license. 14 and 15 year-olds need, in addition to parental consent, a judicial decree from a Family Court judge. Minors under 14 cannot obtain a marriage license under any circumstances.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in New York without parental consent.
New York Common Law Marriage
New York does not recognize common law marriages.
New York Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Proof of age (birth certificate or naturalization record) and photo ID (driver’s license, passport, etc.)
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in New York.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals, at a minimum, should provide the dates that those marriages ended. Some counties may require a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate to be provided, so it is best to contact your county ahead of time.
- Length of License: 60 days from the time of issuance.
- Fees: Range from $35 to $40.
- Authorized New York Officiants: Judges, mayors, local justices, members of the clergy.