Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Nevada has the reputation for having some rather loose laws on marriage. But don’t let the reputation fool you. Nevada marriage law still provides for a number of requirements for anyone wishing to get married in the state. For instance, minors must obtain parental consent, and divorced individuals must wait for the divorce to be finalized before Nevada will issue a marriage license. See below for more details on Nevada marriage laws.
Nevada Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds must have a parent present to give consent before marrying in Nevada. Minors under 16 must have their parents petition a state court and get a court decree.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Nevada without consent of a parent.
Nevada Common Law Marriage
Nevada does not recognize common law marriages.
Nevada Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Valid photo ID in order to prove age.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages in Nevada. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: Divorced individuals must know the date their previous marriage ended, and the divorce must be finalized. No certified copy requirement.
- Length of License: 1 year from date of issuance.
- Fees: Ranging from $35 to $60. Credit cards may be accepted in certain counties for an additional $5 fee.
- Authorized Nevada Officiants: Any ordained ministers and justices of the peace.