Nebraska DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Nebraska DUI lawyers, Nebraska DUI laws, and what a Nebraska DUI attorney can do for you.

Nebraska DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Nebraska DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Nebraska DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Nebraska DUI Attorney at

Post your case to a Nebraska DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Nebraska DUI Convictions:


First DUI Offense: 

Jail:    A minimum of 7 days, up to 60 days.

Fine:  $400 fine.

License Revocation:   60 days.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order a driver to install an IID as a condition of their conviction for an alcohol violation.



Second DUI Offense: 

Jail:    A minimum of 30 days in jail, up to 90 days.

Fine:  $500.

License Revocation:  1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order a driver to install an IID as a condition of their conviction for an alcohol violation.



Third DUI Offense: 

Jail:    A minimum of 90 days in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine:  $600.

License Revocation:  Range from 2 to 15 years.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court will order an IID be installed on your vehicle at your expense.



Nebraska BAC Per Se: 0.08%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02 %

Commercial BAC Per Se While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Nebraska Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences:  Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test, your license will be immediately suspended for one year and you may face criminal charges.

New DUI Laws in 2012:  The State of Nebraska will promulgate stricter DUI penalties effective on January 1, 2012, including but not limited to: (1) DUI with a child 16 years of age or younger will be a separate criminal charge; (2) Boating under the influence will be treated as a DUI; (3) Refusing a sobriety test will result in a separate charge and; (4) A new motor vehicular homicide charge will be enforced, which includes a provision for pregnant mothers. 

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption