Nearly 4.6 Million Florida Drivers Have Suspended or Revoked Licenses

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Dec 17, 2019

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

According to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV), nearly 4.6 million Florida drivers have suspended or revoked licenses – nearly 30 percent of the state’s population. That’s a shocking number by any standard. We asked David Haenel, an attorney based on Florida’s west coast whose practice focuses on Florida suspended license issues, to explain the differences between a license suspension and a license revocation. According to Haenel:

Revocation is usually something that comes from the court. So, for example, if you get a DUI (Driving While Under the Influence) and let’s say you refuse to take the breath test, then your license will be administratively suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles for a particular time period, usually 12 months if it’s a first time DUI. If you get convicted of that DUI in court, the court may order your license to be revoked. So, the court or the local clerk is telling the DHSMV, ‘Hey, we have a conviction on somebody’s record for a DUI, we want you to revoke his or her license for whatever period of time would be necessary, six months, a year, whatever the case may be.’

 

Pay your tickets carefully

Most drivers think that paying their tickets is a good thing. Generally speaking, it is. However, if you pay your tickets in Florida – you just might get nabbed for something else. Haenel explained, “Once you run your driving record and you find out what it is that’s suspending you, you need to be a little cautious and not just pay off the tickets because that may result in even further problems. For example, you may be unknowingly driving around with citations for license suspension. You then find out about them and, thinking you’re doing the right thing, pay them.”

“However, the next thing you know, you get a letter from the DHSMV saying, ‘Hey, congratulations, you just paid off $500 worth of tickets, but now you have three major violations in a five year period and now you’re going to lose your license for five years.’ Just paying off the tickets may also result in some points suspensions, depending on if they’re moving violations or not.”

If your license has been suspended in Florida, contact an attorney whose practice focuses on license suspension issues. 

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption