Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 11, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Mississippi DUI lawyers, Mississippi DUI laws, and what a Mississippi DUI attorney can do for you.

Mississippi DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Mississippi DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Mississippi DUI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Mississippi DUI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Mississippi DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Mississippi DUI Convictions:

 

First Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of up to 48 hours.

Fine:  $250 to $1,000.

License Revocation:  Up to 90 days.

 

Second Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of a minimum of 5 days, up to 1 year.

Fine:  Range from $600 to $1,500.

License Revocation:  2 years.

Ignition Interlock Device: 6 months after license reinstatement.

 

 

Third Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of 1 to 5 years.

Fine:  Range from $2,000 to $5,000.

License Revocation:  Up to 5 years.

Ignition Interlock Device: 6 months after license reinstatement.

Mississippi BAC Per Se: 0.08%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC Per Se: 0.04%

 

Mississippi Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse an alcohol test, your license will be suspended from 90 days to one year.