Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jun 19, 2018

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Minnesota DWI lawyers, Minnesota DWI laws, and what a Minnesota DWI attorney can do for you.

Minnesota DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Minnesota DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Minnesota DWI Lawyers:

Find an experienced Minnesota DWI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com

Post your case to a Minnesota DWI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Minnesota DWI Convictions:

First Offense: 

Jail:  Imprisonment of up to 90 days.

Fine:  Up to $1,000.

Revocation:   Up to 90 days.  If BAC is .20 or more, 180 day license suspension will be imposed. 

 Effective July 1, 2011, if a driver’s BAC is .08 to .19, then her or his drivers license will be revoked for 90 days for which they can apply for a work permit after only serving a hard revocation period of 15 days.  Drivers now have the option not  not to adhere to the 15 day hard revocation period only if they have an ignition interlock device installed on their motor vehicle.  

If the BAC for the first time DUI offender is .16 or more, then the DUI driver will lose her or his driving privileges for 1 year; The prior DUI law required only 90 days.  With respect to those DUI drivers with a BAC ranging from .08 to .19, those drivers with a .16 or more may have their driving privileges for the entire 1 year period if the driver agrees to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle.  The installation of this device is approximately $300 plus maintenance and operations fees in excess of over $100 per month. If a DUI offender with a BAC of 0.16 and above refuses the ignition interlock device will lose their driving privileges from 1 year to 6 years.

 

Second Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of up to 1 year in jail. 

Fine:   $3,000.

License Revocation:   180 days.  If BAC is .20 or more, 360 day license revocation will be imposed.

Whiskey Plates:  Whiskey plates are a special type of license plate that the state will impose on a driver for second or subsequent DUI offense.  The plates have the initials “WX or WY” which is designed to alert law enforcement officers that the driver of the vehicle has a DUI conviction.  Whiskey plates allow any law enforcement officer to stop the vehicle for any reason whatsoever.

 

Third Offense:  

Jail:  Imprisonment of up to 1 year in jail.

Fine:  Up to $3,000.

License Revocation:  Indefinite suspension.

 

Minnesota BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.20%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.00%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Minnesota Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences:   Yes.  If a person refuses a chemical test of their breath, urine or blood then he or she will receive a 1 year license suspension.