Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyers and Convictions

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 11, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI/OWI/OUIL charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL lawyers and information about Michigan BAC, DUI/OWI/OUIL schools, DUI/OWI/OUIL laws, DUI/OWI/OUIL penalties and fines, DUI/OWI/OUIL charges and the DMV, and what a DUI/OWI/OUIL attorney can do for you.

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Glossary of Terms

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Insurance Consequences

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyers:

Find an experienced Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Attorney at JustAnswer Legal

Post your case to a Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyer

How a DUI/OWI/OUIL Lawyer Can Help

Michigan DUI/OWI/OUIL Convictions*:
Michigan OWI: Must be shown that alcohol visibly weakened or reduced ability to drive.
Michigan OUIL: Must be shown that alcohol materially or substantially affected ability to drive.

First Offense:  

Jail:  Up to 93 days in jail.

Fine:  Range from $100 to $1,000.

License Revocation:   Up to 6 months.

Enhanced Penalty:  In 2011, if your BAC is 0.17% or higher then you face up to 180 days in jail; a fine between $200-$700; 360 hours of community service; license suspension for 1 year and mandatory alcohol treatment.

 

Second Offense: 

Jail:  A minimum of 5 days in jail, up to 1 year.

Fine:  Range from $200 to $2,000.

License Revocation:  A minimum of 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order that an IID be installed on your vehicle at your expense.

 

Third Offense:  Classified as a felony offense.

Jail:  Jail sentence range from 1 to 5 years.

Fine:  $200 to $2,000.

License Revocation:  Minimum of 1 year.

Ignition Interlock Device (IID):  The court may order that an IID be installed on your vehicle at your expense.

 

Michigan BAC Per Se: 0.08%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle:  0.04%

Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal is a civil infraction, and your drivers license will be suspended for 1 year.

* DUI (Driving Under the Influence); OWI (Operating While Impaired); OUIL (Operating Under the Influence of Intoxicating Liquor)

More Michigan DUI Information – Michigan DUI Penalties, Fines, SentencingMichigan DUI Statutes, ResourcesDo you need a DUI Lawyer?Post your Case to an Michigan DUI Attorney. No Cost. No Obligation.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption