Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
Under Maryland marriage laws, couples must obtain a valid marriage license before getting married in the state. Various age restrictions apply for minors who want to get a marriage license. Additionally, any individual who was previously married must provide certified proof that that marriage ended. The remaining requirements for getting a Maryland marriage license are set forth below.
Maryland Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: 16 and 17 year-olds can marry in Maryland only with parental consent and confirmation of the minor’s age, or a licensed physician’s certification that the individual is pregnant or has given birth to a child. 15 year olds must have the physician’s certification that they are pregnant or gave birth to a child, or else they cannot marry. Minors under 15 cannot be married under any circumstances in Maryland.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and over do not need parental consent to be married in Maryland.
Maryland Common Law Marriage
Maryland does not recognize common law marriages. However, Maryland does recognize common law marriages if valid in another state.
Maryland Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Identification Required: Photo identification such as a driver’s license.
- Appearance/Proxy: No proxy marriages. Both parties must appear at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals must provide a certified copy of the divorce decree or death certificate to prove that the previous marriage ended.
- Length of License: 6 months from the date of issuance.
- Civil Marriage Ceremonies: Clerk or Deputy Clerk of the Circuit Court can perform civil ceremonies. Hours and fees will vary by county.
- Fees: Fees vary by county but generally range from $30 to $60. Taking a state-approved premarital prep course may give you a discount.
- Authorized Maryland Officiants: Any ordained minister.