Maryland DUI/DWI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
A DUI/DWI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Maryland DUI/DWI lawyers, Maryland DUI/DWI laws, and what a Maryland DUI/DWI attorney can do for you.
Maryland DUI/DWI Lawyers:
Find an experienced Maryland DUI/DWI Attorney at JustAnswer Legal
Post your case to a Maryland DUI/DWI Lawyer
Maryland DUI/DWI Convictions:
The State of Maryland makes a legal distinction between Driving While Impaired (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence (DUI). A DWI is legally defined as driving a non-commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.07%. A DUI is legally defined as driving a non-commercial vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or more. Generally speaking, DUI penalties are much harsher than DWI penalties.
First DWI Offense:
Jail: 2 to 6 months.
License Revocation: A minimum of 6 months.
First DUI Offense:
Jail: 1 to 2 years.
Fine: Up to $1,000.
License Revocation: Minimum of 6 months.
Second DWI Offense:
Jail: Up to 1 year.
Fine: $500 to $2,000.
License Revocation: A minimum of 1 year.
Second DUI Offense:
Jail: 2 to 3 years.
Fine: $2,000 to $3,000.
License Revocation: 1 year.
Third DWI Offense:
Jail: 3 to 4 years.
Fine: $3,000 to $4,000.
License Revocation: 18 months.
Third DUI Offense: Up to 3 years in jail. If a minor is in the vehicle, up to 4 years in jail.
Fine: Up to $3,000. If a minor is in the vehicle, up to $4,000.
License Suspension: Minimum of 18 months.
Maryland BAC Per Se: 0.08%*
High BAC: 0.15%
BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%
Commercial Driver Per Se BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%
Maryland Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusing to submit to an alcohol test can result in a 120-day suspension of your license.
* 0.08 or higher is DUI; 0.07 or under is DWI.