Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Nov 29, 2010
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
A valid Kentucky marriage license is required for anyone wanting to get married in Kentucky. While adults are free to marry without parental consent, minors face consent requirements in addition to the standard requirements. Kentucky does not recognize common law marriages. For more information on the requirements for a Kentucky marriage license, see below.
Kentucky Marriage Consent Laws
- With Parental Consent: Parental consent is required for 16 and 17 year-olds wishing to marry in Kentucky. Parents must sign the Consent to Marriage Form and have it witnessed and sworn by the deputy clerk. Minors under 16 must get court approval in addition to parental consent. Note that pregnant minors may petition the court for approval to marry without parental consent.
- Without Parental Consent: Adults 18 and older may marry in Kentucky without parental consent.
Kentucky Common Law Marriage
Kentucky does not recognize common law marriages.
Kentucky Marriage License
- Residency: No residency requirement.
- Tests: None.
- Identification Required: Photo ID required, and a copy of birth certificate and social security card is advised.
- Appearance/Proxy: Proxy marriages not allowed in Kentucky. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
- Previous Marriages: Previously married individuals should be prepared to provide details on when and where those marriages ended.
- Length of License: 30 days from the time of issuance.
- Fees: In general, $35, payable in cash only.
- Authorized Kentucky Officiants: Judges or ordained ministers.