Kansas DUI’ Law, Lawyers, Penalty and Fines
Get Legal Help Today
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
UPDATED: Jul 16, 2021
It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.
We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.
Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.
A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Kansas DUI lawyers, Kansas DUI laws, and what a Kansas DUI attorney can do for you.
Kansas DUI Lawyers:
Find an experienced Kansas DUI Attorney at AttorneyPages.com
Post your case to a Kansas DUI Lawyer
Kansas DUI Convictions:
First Offense: Minimum of 48 hours in jail or up to 100 hours of community service.
Fine: Range from $500 to $1,000.
License Revocation: 30 days. After that, your drivers license will be restricted 330 days or more.
Enhanced Penalty: If your BAC is 0.15% or greater, then your drivers license will be suspended for 1 year and an ignition interlock device will be installed in your vehicle(s) at your expense.
Second Offense: Minimum of 90 days in jail, up to 1 year.
Fine: Range from $1,000 to $1,500.
License Revocation: 1 year. After 1 year license suspension an ignition interlock device is mandatory.
Third Offense: Classified as a felony. Minimum of 90 days in jail, up to 1 year. 72 hours must be served prior to work release.
Fine: $1,500 to $2,500.
License Revocation: 1 year.
Kansas BAC Per Se: 0.08%
High BAC: 0.15%
BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%
Commercial Driver BAC While Operating a Commercial Vehicle: 0.04%
Kansas Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. If you refuse to take an alcohol test on your first offense, then your driving privileges will be suspended for one year, and you will be required to install and maintain an ignition interlock device in your vehicle(s) at your expense. If you refuse to take an alcohol test on your second offense, then your driving privileges will be suspended for two years.