I’m an Arkansas landlord with a difficult tenant. I’ve given the tenant the proper Arkansas termination notice, but he still won’t leave. What next? What is the Arkansas eviction process?

Get Legal Help Today

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Feb 13, 2020

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

If you are an Arkansas landlord who has notified your tenant that the lease is terminating but the tenant still will not leave, your next step is to file for eviction. This is accomplished by going to your local District Court and following the court clerk’s instructions. The court will have a summons served on your tenant. The tenant will have 5 days to file a written answer to your suit. If the tenant does not, you will get an order for immediate possession.

If your tenant files a written answer, a hearing date will be set and you and your tenant will go argue your sides in front of a judge. If you win, the court will issue a writ of possession within 3 days, and the sheriff will give the tenant 24 hours to get off your property. If the tenant does not move, the sheriff will physically remove the tenant and the tenant’s belongings from the property.

Remember, as a landlord it is illegal for you to physically remove the tenant yourself. For personalized legal help, contact an experienced Arkansas evictions attorney.

Get Legal Help Today

Find the right lawyer for your legal issue.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption