Jeffrey Johnson is a legal writer with a focus on personal injury. He has worked on personal injury and sovereign immunity litigation in addition to experience in family, estate, and criminal law. He earned a J.D. from the University of Baltimore and has worked in legal offices and non-profits in Maryland, Texas, and North Carolina. He has also earned an MFA in screenwriting from Chapman Univer...

Full Bio →

Written by

UPDATED: Jun 19, 2018

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right legal decisions.

We strive to help you make confident insurance and legal decisions. Finding trusted and reliable insurance quotes and legal advice should be easy. This doesn’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about legal topics and insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything legal and insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by experts.

A DUI charge is a serious matter. Whether it’s your first offense or your third offense, you need information and help and you need them fast. Here is your one-stop source for Hawaii DUI lawyers, Hawaii DUI laws, and what a Hawaii DUI attorney can do for you.

Hawaii DUI/DWI Glossary of Terms

Hawaii DUI/DWI Insurance Consequences:

What Happens When You Get Stopped for Drunk Driving?

How Does a Drunk Driving Conviction Affect Your Record?

Hawaii DUI Lawyers:

Post your case to a Hawaii DUI Lawyer

How a DUI/DWI Lawyer Can Help

Hawaii DUI Convictions:

First Offense: 48 Hours to 5 Days in jail.   If child under 15 in vehicle, an additional 48 hours will be added.

Fine: Range from $150 to $1,000.  If child under 15 in vehicle, an additional $500 will be added.

Community Service:  72 hours.

Substance Abuse Program: Complete court ordered substance abuse and/or education program.

Ignition Interlock Device:  If the first-time DUI offender’s license is revoked, then the law promulgates mandatory use of the device. This device prevents an automobile from starting if the driver’s breath alcohol concentration is .02 or higher.  DUI offenders must pay $84 for the installation of the ignition interlock device plus an additional $89 per month leasing fee.  Failure to pay these fees will result in the device being locked, i.e., your automobile will be rendered inoperable.

 

Second Offense: 5 to 14 days in jail.  If child under 15 in vehicle, add an additional 48 hours.

Fine: Range from $500 to $1,500.  If child under 15 in vehicle, add an additional $500.

License Suspension:  1 year.  

Community Service:   A minimum of 240 hours.

Substance Abuse Program: Complete Court Ordered Substance Abuse or Education Program.

 

Third Offense:  10 to 30 days in jail.   If child under 15 in vehicle, add an additonal 48 hours.  

Fine:  Range from $500 to $2,500.  If child under 15 in vehicle, add an additional $500.

Community Service:  A minimum of 240 hours.

License Suspension:  1 to 5 years.  

 

Hawaii BAC Per Se: 0.08%

High BAC: 0.15%

BAC Zero Tolerance: 0.02%

Hawaii Implied Consent Law/Test Refusal Consequences: Yes. Refusal to submit to an alcohol test results in an immediate year-long license suspension.  Refusal to submit to an alcohol test is now a crime, a petty misdemeanor up from an administrative violation.